Fall 2013

Standard

Wow! Fall has truly flown by. My 25th birthday has already came in a flash. My good friend Gloria came to visit for my birthday, and was a great time. We went hiking, golfing, PT and went to my running club.

Image

Gloria & myself hiking at Eisenhower Park

We both flew back to Kansas City, so I could celebrate a belated birthday with my friends, family, David and our puppy dogs. My trips home are always much needed, and David makes every trip extra special. For my birthday he bought me a 3 piece set of Guess luggage. I no longer have to take the giant green army bag when I travel home!! One of my favorite things from my birthday trip home was going hiking with David, and our dogs. It was at the state park right by our house and the trails were pretty secluded so we were able to let Rocky & Georgia be off leash. They did so good, and walked/ trotted along with David and I for over 5 miles! Another memorable moment from my birthday trip was making smores on our back deck using the grill and sitting out by the “fire” in our lawn chairs. So relaxing, and so fun.

Image

 

In front of the lake at the state park

 

 

Image

Rocky and Georgia in front of our “fire”

Image

S’mores Mmmmm

 

Image

David bowled a record 9 strikes in a row. My bowling game was struggling…

 

In October, both Ashley and Dad came to visit me. Ashley came first, and spent a few days with me in San Antonio. We went on several walks at my apartment, saw the movie Capt Phillips with our friend Allison, ate at La Gloria (A fan favorite mexican restaurant) and went to Sea World for their Halloween festival. It was a blast. Not only did we see all of the regular Sea World shows, but we saw their Halloween themed shows, and at night, went to 3 of their haunted houses which were pretty scary, but very fun!

ImageImageAbout 2 weeks later, Dad was here to visit. We went bowling, played 9 holes at the par 3 course, went to the driving range, went shopping, made pumpkin muffins, played checkers, ate at La Gloria (Dad & Ashley both loved it), and went on a couple of walks at my apartment. His trip was short, but so much fun!! We both flew back to Kansas City together on October 31st- just in time to celebrate Halloween!!

Image

ImageIn Kansas City, David took me bowling & then to eat at Italian Delight (Hands down my favorite place to eat when I’m at home) then we picked up candy for trick or treaters. We set up a little table, and Halloween music by the front door, and I made a sign to post on the front door “Trick or Treaters Welcome”- We had about 30 trick or treaters from 6pm-9 pm. Our favorite costumes were 2 homemade Minions from Despicable Me. Also while at home, we were able to go see Bad Grandpa, Capt Phillips & Enders Game. On Sunday we went to church and we also walked 9 holes of golf. When David was at work one morning, I took time to clean the whole house, do all the laundry and clean the pup’s crate!!

ImageImage

I am so fortunate to be going home again, in just 4 short days. I have to work Saturday, Sunday & Monday — then Tuesday morning at 6am I will be flying home for another 4 day pass. This trip I plan to do more cleaning, decorate for Christmas with my mom, hang out with David’s cousin Shanell & of course spends lots of much needed time with David and our dogs. This trip we will make it to the gym!!

All for now.

Love,

H

4 responses »

  1. Great post. Especially the old guy in the MU hat.

    Happy Veteran’s Day! Thanks for your service and helping our veterans fell better, Nurse Holly.

    Have a great day. And don’t forget to ake advantage of the free meal deal somewhere.

    Love Mom and Dad

  2. Glad I got to go to San Antonio & see you in Kansas City! Can’t wait to head back down again. Christmas pics next! Ashley

Leave a comment